Super Green Money Saving Tips

There are a lot of money saving tips out there. I see them all over the web and every newspaper I read offers some sort of bargain or deal. The economy stinks so even my local newscaster is discussing ways I can save a dollar on the local level. And I have returned to my beloved habits of shopping at flea markets, thrift stores and online discounters. I am always on the look out for a money saving opportunity and I’m sure you are, too.

But the ones that interest me the most are the ones that both save me money and help to save the planet, too. I care as much about caring for the environment as I do about tending to my wallet. Being an animal and environmental “activist” of sorts, I am always thinking of new ways to make better use of the resources around me. It only makes sense. So, if you want some great ideas on how to save moolah and also be a greenie, here are a few new ones I found. I hope you like them.

Tip #1: Before the hottest months of the year roll around, work on your home. Reduce lost cooling air by caulking and sealing windows and doors. Schedule your day so that you do laundry in the evening or early morning hours. Stop using the dryer and take advantage of the outdoor air and use a clothesline. To further reduce utility costs, close window shades as much as possible to reduce the amount of sunlight allowed to broil your home.

Tip #2: When doing laundry, use cold water only. This saves a HUGE amount of money on the utility bill. If you must wash certain items in very hot water, do so in a sink. Also, check your refrigerator and make sure it is set at no lower than 40 degrees and make sure stand alone freezers are at their highest setting where foods stay frozen.

Tip #3: Always unplug appliances when not in use. I know this can be a pain in the butt but the savings are big. Every single appliance and electronic item in your home uses electricity when it’s plugged in, turned on or not.

Tip # 4: Change or clean your air conditioner filters at least once a month to keep your unit running efficiently. If you’re shopping for a new air conditioner, check the Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER). The higher the ratio, the more you save.

Tip # 5: The new buzzword is “hypermiling”, which means to get the most mileage and efficiency as you can from a car. To help efficency, save on gas and reduce emissions, the first thing you should do is empty the trunk. The more your car weighs, the more gas it uses.

Tip # 6: Another hypermiling trick is to coast instead of brake. Letting the car slow down by itself reduces fuel consumption. Also, use cruise control whenever possible to further reduce fuel use.

Tip # 8: Check traffic reports before leaving and leave earlier or later to avoid gridlock. Use the air conditioner as little as tolerable. Idling in traffice chows down gas and dumps emissions. If you can do it, driving with the windows down is a great gas saver.

Tip # 9: Another gas saver: SLOW DOWN. I know you’re in a hurry, we all are. But if you want to save on gas then take your foot on the pedal. You’ll also save big bucks on traffic fines.

Tip # 10: A great idea to save money on food cost is to start growing your own food. Believe it or not, this method is becoming increasingly more popular because of its effectiveness. A family of four may be able to save up to $1,200 a year. And it’s not all that hard to do. Even if you only have a tiny yard.

THIS IS A “GREEN WALLET ITEM”

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,


Digg!

submit to reddit

