Herbal Teeth Whiteners

It is crazy how popular teeth whitening toothpaste has become in the past few years. All of a sudden, every toothpaste has a “whitener” and the sales of “high powered whitening kits” has passed the ceiling. The honest truth is that most of these whiteners don’t work in the short term and many take years to actually make a difference. With the chemicals in the products if you continue to smoke and drink tea or coffee, you cross out any positive effects the paste may have had. So, in the long run, they are not worth the cost.

So what will whiten teeth? We all know that you can have a professional bleaching done for a big fat paycheck and then your teeth will be thin and sensitive and require special care for your lifetime. Oh, boy, but your teeth will be whiter than they were. Still, if you go back out and smoke and drink tea or coffee, then you will begin to stain the thin and sensitive teeth you have left and then a second bleaching will be out of the question.

So what might whiten teeth without all the trouble and can be done again and again, as needed, without ruining your teeth or costing a fortune? You are going to laugh at the answer. You are going to laugh because you not going to believe that nobody told you or if they did somebody else told you that they were lieing. Johnson & Johnson and Proctor and Gamble are not about to tell you can do with a few items you already have in your kitchen. Heck, you might not buy their tooth whitening toothpaste. Have you really seen any great benefit in that toothpaste? Only those of you with fairly white teeth to begin with have actually seen any “improvement”. Everybody else, you’re just imagining it.

This has all been born out in study after study. I’ve seen it in the newspaper, on the net, the news, even my friends have told me. These products don’t work. And yet everybody goes out and buys them. I still have yet to understand that. However, for those of you who would like to know the truth and to really get whiter teeth for less money and trouble, then I’m gonna let you in on a secret.

You’ve heard it said over and over again that baking soda makes a great toothpaste. You have even bought toothpaste touting baking soda as an ingredient. But you bought the toothpaste instead of using the baking soda because you liked the packaging, you liked the taste, you liked the idea of using a store bought product rather than dipping your brush in a box. You like the gel idea more. And perhaps the taste of baking soda leaves you flat. OK. So now, consider this. Toothpaste is all made with peppermint. How about adding some peppermint leaves/oil/candies to your baking soda box and letting it “fixate”? In a few days you have peppermint tasting baking soda. Just like your toothpaste.

But, I want whitening, you say! Ok. You must realize that citrus oils are the very best stain removers on teeth, like on porcelain. A simple thing like rubbing your teeth with a lime or lemon peel will begin to melt away the tea or coffee stain. A raw Strawberry is another good stain remover. I’m serious. Rub them over your teeth, night after night, and soon enough you will find your teeth are getting whiter. The stains are disappearing.

So taking all this folk medicine and putting it together, I have come up with some recipes for homemade toothpaste that will not only melt the stains but make your teeth healthier in the process. The really hard thing to erase is nicotine and, in reality, you should quit smoking but if you aren’t and you want to reduce the browning damage to your teeth, I am telling you to try these recipes. Brush your teeth with these for a month and then feel free to come back here and call me an idiot if your teeth are not whiter. But at least it won’t cost you anymore than crappy whitening toothpaste you’ve been using for the past year… and your teeth are still brown and yellow and ugly. So what have you got to lose? Nothing but the stains!

Recipe #1:

1 Tbsp Baking Soda
1 Tsp Sea Salt
2 Tsp Lemon Juice

Mix these all together until it is a paste. If needed, add more Lemon Juice or Baking Soda in order to make it thicker or thinner. Whatever works for you. Just don’t add more salt.
Brush your teeth with this, as you would any toothpaste, for a few weeks.

Recipe #2

1 Tsp Sea Salt
Fresh Lemon or Lime Peel

Use as many peels as you feel you might need. Use the same amount of salt on each. Rub the peel all over the soft side with the salt until it’s coated. Allow it to sit for a few minutes but not long enough to dry out the peel. Rub your teeth with these all over, pressing hard and scrubbing. Do this twice or three times a week for a month. For really brown teeth, then do it two times each time. Should begin to make a difference in a few weeks.

Recipe #3

1 Tbsp Salt
1 Tsp Lemon Juice

Use this recipe if you are out of Baking Soda or don’t have any Sea Salt. It will make your lip feel swollen for a few minutes afterward, but it will work in a pinch. Rub the salt mixture into the teeth of the brush and then brush your teeth all over with it. Like I said, you can use this in a pinch but you shouldn’t use it a lot because it dries out the mouth and, in the long run, dry mouth causes teeth problems like cavities.

Recipe #4

1 Crushed Strawberry, deseeded
1 Tsp Baking Soda
Mint Sprigs or Peppermint Oil

This is a tasty paste that will remind you of commercial toothpaste. It looks really funky though, red Strawberry mashed up with Baking Soda. So you scrape the seeds off and mash the Strawberry. Then you mix it up with the Baking Soda until it’s like a paste. Leave in a container with the Mint Sprigs or a dash of Peppermint Oil overnight. After 24 hours, this paste is ready to use. If you used fresh Mint, don’t forget to remove the sprigs before use. Brush with this mix every single night for as long as you like. You will love the way it melts the stains and tastes pretty good in the process.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Digg!

submit to reddit

8 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am having problems with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting identical RSS issues? Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  2. 2

    juli said,

    i want some fruit face cream recipes because some fruits we cant get all the years so i want this fruits in a cream statuas

  3. 4

    The recipes that you have listed in here are really great remedies for not-that-white teeth. They have seemed to work for most of my clients who have tried almost all teeth whitening products available in market but the desired result was not produced.

    Greetings

  4. 5

    tranquiltalk said,

    Hey again,

    Can lime juice be a substitute for lemon juice? I am just curious. I like them both.

    I am looking forward to trying your remedy. I don’t want yellow teeth when I start my student teaching with high school students. They may be crueler than kindergarten children.

    I miss the 1970’s. The big fad was hair. Do you have any suggestions on how to make one’s own shampoo for color-treated hair? I am into herb teas.

    Talk to you soon,

    Lynda G. at Tranquil Talk
    tranquiltalk@worldpress.com

    • 6

      spacecoaststargirl said,

      Yes, you can substitute Lime. Any citrus that isn’t sweet will do. The acid that does it is even in Oranges but fruit pectin and fructose in Oranges is bad for your teeth so stick with Lemons or Limes. In regards to Henna, I am not sure about colored hair. I cannot guarantee the results but I think it won’t take because the hair pores are sealed by the previous color. You might have to strip it or let it grow out first. Remember, Henna can be a light tone or a really really red one… it depends on how much you use. Start with a weak tea and then work up to darker ones until you get the tone you want. I am preparing a post on treatments and shampoos for color treated hair. Good luck and enjoy!

  5. 7

    Harmony Green,

    Season Greetings. For most of my life, my teeth have been pearly white not a snowy white that is almost blue. A few years ago, I worked at an after school program with kindergärtners. This age group is very honest and will say what they think. One of my students stated that my teeth were yellow. His statement encouraged me to take another look at my smile. My teeth were not corn yellow, but they were not as white as a child’s. I drink coffee, tea, and soda like it is going out of style. I have tried various toothpastes, and the best my teeth look are a light beige to an off white.

    Last summer, my dentist told me to wait until my teeth are darker before bleaching them. Of course, my caffeine habit will mess up any artificial bleaching job.

    I am looking forward to trying one of your recipes. I am a back to nature person myself. Lemons are the key to health. Mother nature knew what she was doing to create natural remedies, and she did not have to create toothpaste tubes for packaging. I will e-mail you back with the results.

    Happy Holidays,

    Lynda G. at Tranquil Talk

  6. 8

    clarkie300 said,

    I think I’ll try the first recipe! I drink coffee, so I know that none of the products on the market will really help me, not that my teeth are horrible, just a little barely noticeable stain. Thanks for all of the information!


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.